Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, people can purchase any kinds of foods from supermarkets with affordable price. This is because our economy is getting more and more globalized and industrialized. So, the owner of supermarkets can import demanded food from other countries in cheeper price compared to locally provided foods. In my opinion, this is positive development for consumers because of two reasons. To start with, some vegetables and fruits are difficult to grow up in cold weather, so the quality of these goods are worse in some countries. For instance, in Japan we are relying on importing a specific fruit which is banana from Philippines. Generally banana is a kind of tropical fruits, so it is easy to cultivate in tropical islands like Philippines and Indonesia. However, it doesn’t grow up in Japan because the temperature is quite cold during winter season. The quality of banana is better in tropical islands because it absorb enough ultra violate during day time and superb nutritions from jungle in entire year. Therefore, importing better quality foods from other country is good development because consumers can taste the high quality foods that they used not to try before. Secondly, consumers take the advantage of cheeper price for imported foods compare to locally produced. For example, there are not enough land for growing up lemon in Japan, so total amount of cultivation is small and the price will be higher compare to the imported one. As a result of technology improvement, cultivation cost is extremely cheap cheeper in other countries. Moreover, there are gigantic land and stable temperature in Mexico so people in there can cultivate large amount of lemon efficiently. In fact, the price of imported lemon is almost half price of Japanese lemon. Thus, consumers can buy the same food with cheeper price for the imported one. In conclusion, buying imported products from other country is beneficial development for consumers. As I mentioned above, importing foods from other countries is beneficial in economically and people can get better quality foods too. So, the globalization is positive influence for people.