Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent to you agree or disagree. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Habitat is important for everyone. It is our responsibility to preserve our world instead of destroying it. Some people believe that only governments and large companies can improve the environment, while individuals can not do anything. However, this is an ignorant and lazy belief to shirk one's duty. In this essay, I will argue that individuals can make a difference although not to the same extent as authorities and large corporations. Governments are able to make major improvements to the background by using the power vested in them. For instance, ministries can implement rules and regulations to protect nature, enforce them and employ severe penalties such as large fines and long sentences. This may deter individuals and corporations from damaging the environment due to the fear of punishment. In addition, governments can conduct educational programmes at schools to teach children from a young age about the negative consequences of environmental pollution so that they will not harm nature. Large companies can protect their surroundings, with or without government interference, by taking measures to reduce their emissions. In third -world countries like Sri Lanka, many businesses get away with dumping waste into rivers, emitting toxic pollutants, producing high levels of carbon and many other activities due to the poor enforcement of government regulations. However, they can drastically reduce pollution, for example, by using air filters in factories and proper waste disposal. Big industries can also help revive this dying world by using the latest technologies like artificial intelligence and robotics. An individual, too, can make significant contributions to nurturing the globe. Every person on Earth has a carbon footprint which is can be decreased by travelling less, discarding bio-degradable waste properly and by planting more trees. Furthermore, we can vote for politicians who care about the planet so that they may implement laws to conserve the environment. Even though, a person can not make a huge difference, the more each individual protects the surroundings, the more eco-friendly society becomes. To summarise, each human can help to make our surroundings better but not to the same extent as the government and large associations.