The number of people interested in cosmetic surgery is increasing in order to improve their physical appearance. Why do people do operations to change their appearance? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Surgical methods of changing one’s appearance have become increasingly widespread in the world. Although it has certain advantages, I do believe that this trend has a negative effect on society. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. It is true that cosmetic surgery can help us improve our self-worth; it makes us look prettier and be appreciated by others. It makes us confident when interacting with society and gives us more opportunities to develop ourselves. Besides, surgery can also help people with congenital disorders or deformities caused by accidents become normal. For example, in Korea, many people have had eyelid surgery, and this is also the main type of plastic surgery in Korea. Because when they’re born, their eyes are mostly monolids, which makes some people pretty self-conscious. In contrast, many people have tried cosmetic surgery and spent a lot of money on it, which affects their personal economy and social development. Moreover, cosmetic surgery might also harm our health. There are many cosmetic surgeries that have failed and left bad consequences for the patient. Many people also abuse cosmetic surgery too much, leading to unwanted consequences. For example, the face of actress Anjelica Huston was considered a failure of cosmetic surgery after she tried to keep her youth on her face. In conclusion, various cosmetic surgeries are becoming more in demand nowadays. People can have surgery to look and feel better about their own appearances. However, people should exercise caution when having high-risk cosmetic surgery to avoid negative outcomes.