Some people argue that art, such as paintings and music are a waste of money and and the government should spend this money on pubic service To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is popularly argued that the investment of funds into art, like drawings and music production by the government, is a total waste. Some people say that authorities should rather put money into social services like the construction of roads, parks and gardens etc. I completely disagree with this and this essay will explain my reasons. Firstly, art encourages creativity. In other words, it brings out the intrinsic ability in people. So investing in exposing these natural abilities should be a focus for public officials as it helps to create a rounded community. For instance, a record reveals that in Nigeria, 30 programmes are specially created for talent hunting. This has helped the citizens bring out the unborn abilities in them and likewise created a booming society. Secondly, art brings about diversity in the country. Moreover, not everyone can attend college, so others who feel they have a gift should be offered a chance to showcase themselves while earning a living for it. For example, Wizkid, a popular music artist in Nigeria has never done a 9 to 5 job but he is very rich. This is because he has been endorsed by many multinational industries because of his singing abilities. Therefore, artist such as musicians, painters, etc makes the populace diverse. In conclusion, authorities’ focus on investing should not be on public services but rather on people with innate abilities because it makes society extremely creative and diverse. So I completely side with the government making funds available to promote the talent searching programmes in the nation.