Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many believe that producers and supermarkets have the duty to lower the amount of packaging of products, while others believe that consumers shall refrain from purchasing products with a lot of packaging. In my opinion, each view has its own advantages and both should be amended. Manufacturers and supermarkets should cut down the amount of packaging, considering the positive impacts that it has on the environment. Indeed, doing so will cut down the volume of waste disposed into natural habitats, which leads to a greener and safer environment for all citizens. For example, every year, billions of plastic bottles are produced by soft drink companies, and most of them are dumped without being recycled. If manufacturers could cut down the materials needed for each bottle, it would help lessen the amount of waste significantly. Therefore, producers should take action to cut the amount of packaging used for their products. Similarly, citizens should avoid purchasing goods with a lot of packaging, since this would encourage companies to use less packaging. The reason for this is that if companies refuse to change, then their revenue would be adversely affected. For example, if people stopped buying vegetables with plastic wrappings, companies will have to come up with some other type of wrappings, otherwise,none of their goods would be sold, which directly lower their income. Taking this into account, customers should also avoid buying such types of goods. In conclusion, the reduction of packaging in goods would benefit the environment significantly, while customers avoiding buying products with a lot of packaging would encourage companies to make this change. Therefore, both should be applied.