Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festival; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?.

There has been a phenomenon that more people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals. Some people say it's better to keep these traditions, some have the opposite opinions. I think the meaning of a festival is to celebrate, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, keeping these old traditions is arduous. Take the Spring festival as an example. In the past, people used to not sleep on the last day of the year in order to cherish the time; this tradition has been held for thousands of years, and it is of the utmost importance in Chinese people's minds. However, due to technological development, this tradition seems to be forsaken by the younger generation. Not only because they think the Spring festival is less important now but also because they don't trust superstitions anymore. Second, people sometimes take traditions too serious. Take Chinese mooncakes as an example. We always eat this food during the Autumn festival as so to celebrate family unity. However, on account of the popularity of this food, some dealers find it lucrative and propagate the importance of eating mooncakes during the Autumn festival. As a result, the price of this food has increased considerably, and it has lost its fondness in the general public's minds. On the other hand, traditions have their values as well. For example, they make people aware of the importance of family unity. Take Christmas as an example. It is not only the birthday of Jesus but also a chance to bring all family members together and celebrate together. As a consequence, their relationships can be forged. In conclusion, I believe the principle of a festival is to bring happiness but some strict traditions.