Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is generally believed that music can unite individuals from different backgrounds and ages. That might be true, however I think music that is followed by certain practices might create gaps and groups among them. In this essay, I am going to discuss both perspectives and decide to what extent I agree or disagree with this notion. Firstly, music can vary from place to place, and different regions oftentimes have different types of music. Individuals who live together in the same tribe might have their traditions that are followed by music. To illustrate this, one of the tribes in my home country, specifically in Tanah Toraja, they have their own cultural practice of slaughtering cattle followed by tribal instruments being played during the session. A number of visitors who, despite their ages, might find it peculiar and sadistic. Simultaneously, they will be reluctant to watch, although a gripping melody is served in the background. Secondly, there are also several occasions in my homeland where people gather in one place, dance, and enjoy time together with music, despite the differences among us. One of the examples is independence day which is held annually on August 17. Several competitions take place including the dance competition. The rule is simple, we have to dance in pairs with a balloon between our heads, follow the rhythm of the music, and don’t let the balloon pop or fall onto the ground. On this occasion only, people are not grouped by age or tribe. All family members, young and old, can join in all together. In conclusion, in my opinion, if music is followed by some tribal practices that might be hard to be accepted by the majority of people, despite the quality or taste music of the music, this will fail to put people in one place. However, if music is played on an occasion that is free from some extreme practices, it will bring joy and bring together people from various backgrounds.