Some people think that children should aim to do their best at whatever they are doing. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that children should try their best to do things that they initially want to do. While some people oppose the former idea, I believe that this practice could help children tremendously. On the one hand, always pushing oneself to limits to complete something may sound frightening and strenuous,especially to children. For example, a child whose physical health is weak may find running a long track out of reach and he, therefore, is put under a lot of strain to complete the mission successfully. Furthermore, today's children have to learn 12 subjects at school including both science subjects and human subjects, if they are determined to perform best in all these subjects, they will more likely to suffer from some serious health problems such as back pain and obesity due to their sedentary lifestyles. On the other hand, I would argue that trying their best to complete things whether they are daily tasks or school homework can greatly help children gain essential qualities which is useful for their future career. Firstly, children can certainly learn how to motivate themselves to overcome challenges when trying to achieve something. During the process of conquering their lofty goals, they will learn to be patient with the arising problems thus improving their problem-solving skills. After successfully achieving the things that they have to try so hard to complete, they will feel fulfilled and happy and also become more confident. In conclusion, there are some drawbacks when trying best to perform best at anything, but in my opinion, this practice will bring about favourable benefits in terms of necessary characteristics and useful skills for children's future careers.