Some people think young children should learn how to play a musical instrument at school. Others believe that other subjects, such as mathematics and science, should be prioritised because they will be more useful for children when they grow older. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In light of technological development, there has been a strong emphasis on subjects such as mathematics and science in schools. Under the circumstances, there has been contention over whether educational establishments should focus on teaching children these subjects rather than music. However, I firmly believe that learning how to play a musical instrument is equally important as it will bring two major merits: expanding children’s career options and other educational outcomes. To begin, those who advocate for the importance of science and mathematics tend to stem from a better job opportunity. Reflecting societal demands, professions such as scientists, engineers, and IT-related occupations have been consistently sought after. Ample research indicates that recent graduates who majored in this realm at higher education are more likely to be engaged in a stable job, meaning that they become high-income earners. It is plausible for schools to turn their attention to these subjects, considering the prospect of children’s future careers. Nevertheless, there are two predominant reasons why playing a musical instrument is imperative in early education. First and foremost, when children are young, it is difficult for them to manifest what they aspire to be in the future. For instance, some may ignite their interests through musical lessons and pursue a professional pianist. Thus, by treating all subjects as equally important, children’s interests are valued and ensure a wide range of children’s possible future dreams. Additionally, learning how to play an instrument can also holistically provide learning outcomes such as emotional regulation, fine motor skills, creativity, and cognitive skills, which cannot be attained by solely engaging in science and mathematics. In conclusion, while I must admit that science and mathematics are vitally important for future careers, it may not apply to all children as they have different interests as well as aspirations. Moreover, we should not undervalue the benefits of playing a musical instrument, hence I strongly argue that music is equally important as other subjects.