Write an essay on the following topic. ​Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits. To what extent do you agree with this statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words.

It is often believed that each person’s characteristics are influenced by many genetic factors as well as numerous other factors. Some people are of the view that the character traits of people are solely dependent on our genes and these cannot be changed. I wholly disagree with the notion that genes predetermine people’s personalities as the lifestyle and the nature of upbringing play a pivotal role in shaping their behaviours. To begin with, society is the key factor in shaping future generations. Teenagers learn from their daily experiences or even from movies they watch, so it is necessary to educate them on behaviours. For instance, we have seen many cases where children may look similar to their parents but their personalities differ, also in numerous cases there are students who crack tough exams even though they do not come from a good parenting background. On the other hand, individuals experience many good and bad things throughout their lives. These have a huge impact on their mind and hence they shape their thoughts and way of living in terms of what they have experienced and learnt till that point. Furthermore, the environment and people around whom individuals grow up greatly impact their personalities and character traits. As proof, children raised by strict parents find it a little hard to open up and have introverted personalities as compared to kids of broad-minded parents. In conclusion, even though genes play a minor role in determining the personalities of individuals, upbringing environment and surroundings can still modify an individual’s personality.