In the future, it may be scientifically possible for people to live for 150 years. This could be good news for individuals but it may have negative consequences for our society. What are the benefits and risks of people living to 150?

These days the world is developing fast, and so is science. That is why it may well be true that human beings will live until they are 150 years old. However, it brings both advantages and disadvantages. Predictably, some people hold the view that it is rather a pro if individuals live longer. So, it would enable people to work and pay taxes until they are much more than 55-65 years old. Therefore, it would benefit the economy and enhance the quality of life. As a result, the community would feel happier if employees contributed more money to society's needs. For instance, a study has shown that citizens of Finland and Denmark have the highest range of taxes but they are the happiest countries in the world. On top of that, Finland's and Denmark's nations are ready to pay so many taxes because they are satisfied with medicine, education and so on. Other people claim that longevity has a lot of cons. First of all, if people lived to 150 it would cause overpopulation worldwide. Subsequently, it might lead to a lack of working places and some vital resources such as water and food. Secondly, scientists and experts will need to implement gene editing and age hacking in order to prolong human lives. To illustrate, researchers say that gene editing is still forbidden because some severe diseases and impairments might appear in long run. To conclude, it is highly likely that human beings will have an opportunity to live to 150 in the foreseeable thanks to science. Nonetheless, there is a lot of work to be done before it happens. Needless to say, experts will have to take into account quite a few fine points before they start implementing new technology.