Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and society

Buying goods is a necessity in everyone’s daily life. As the needs are becoming more diverse, shopping nowadays is becoming more popular than ever before. This popularity has many reasons as well as many positive and negative effects on individuals and society. Many factors lead to the increasing popularity of shopping. One of these is the wide range of shopping centres and malls which are spread all over the world. For example, where I live, there are three big shopping centres nearby. Another reason is the variety of choices in any item you need to buy so anyone is able to find whatever he needs at an affordable price. So everyone is able to buy his needs regardless of his location or financial situation. The increase in shopping popularity affects the individual in different ways. All individuals are nowadays satisfied by their ability to afford their personal and family needs but also some of them go shopping only to remove stress or spend their free time. But sometimes, it may lead to wasting money and falling into economic problems. Moreover, for society, retail is a very important economic resource. More shopping means more shops, more employees, more money and in sum, more economic activities. A better economic situation leads to a better lifestyle, more developed schools, universities, hospitals and other facilities. In conclusion, shopping is becoming more and more popular and the market is in continuous progress. This shopping must be well directed to the benefit of both individuals and society.