Some modern artists receive huge sums of money for the things they create, while others struggle to survive. Governments should take steps to resolve this unfair situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Artists, like many creative people, have to work hard in order to survive on the income they receive from selling their products. Some artists gain popularity and can therefore charge a great deal of money on the behalf of their work, while many others never achieve success. I believe there are convincing reasons why this happens, and there is nothing that governments can or should do about it. People are generally believed to be willing to pay for something that they are fond of and would like to own it. Moreover, in the case of art, this may be because they feel something is unique or exceptionally beautiful or skilful. Furthermore, whatever the reason, I would argue that it would be quite unfair for any government or authority to interfere with this situation and prevent the artists from asking for a higher price for it. Surely the public has to decide what something is worth, even if it means that less admired artists find it hard to earn a living. In addition, it is also argued that artists are like business people, aiming to sell a lot of their products and develop a reputation so they can raise their prices over time. Nevertheless, this may appear unfair to others who remain unknown, but if they choose to continue with a career in art, they must accept this circumstance. For instance, popular artists have spent years developing their skills, studying their major and exhibiting their work. Hence, why would a government deny them the earnings they have put so much effort into achieving? In conclusion, people have to be free to spend their money as they wish. If this means that some artists have to make the difficult choice of finding another way to earn wages, no one can alter that. After all, not much in life is fair.