More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are inclined to move to metropolises for the purpose of having a better living standard; however, living in cities can be challenging in some aspects. From my perspective, several manners can be implemented in order to create a better urban environment. One main problematic issue is that the expenditure of residing in cities can be much higher in comparison with living in the countryside or small town. The price of housing, food, and even transportation can be prohibitively high in urban areas, especially in megacities. The price of produce, for instance, can be double the price of those in rural areas. Apart from the surging price, another evident phenomenon is pollution. The situation of air pollution, as well as audio pollution, are rather severe in cities due to the increasing population and vehicles, many residents that live in the city suffer from asthma, allergy and other respiratory problems caused by the noxious emission. To ameliorate the existing problem, one viable approach is that the authority can invest in social housing or buildings of affordable in order to reduce the cost of living in cities, alleviating the surging economic pressure on city dwellers. Another feasible method is restricting the number of cars on the road and offering discounts for taking public transportation. By doing so, governments can mitigate both the air and audio pollution caused by the excessive number of vehicles, and provide a more economical method for commuting within the cities. In conclusion, living in cities can be challenging as the high cost of daily expenditures and the health problem led by noxious emissions of the cities ’ overpopulation. However, the issues can be tackled by offering more affordable housing and imposing restrictions on car flow.