Employers often ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. discuss both these views and give your opinions give reasons for any answer and relevant examples

It is common for employers to ask for a range of personal information from job applicants; it could be about their marital status or something as simple as their likes and dislikes. Some people hold the opinion that these requests are important and helpful however there are others who strongly disagree. This essay will talk about this views and state my opinion afterwards. As an employer who wants to bring in a new person to your organization, knowing a few things about them will no doubt help give you an insight to what you can expect from them. Apart from checking if they have the right qualifications knowing their status could also help the company plan for things like maternity and paternity leave, work schedule e.t.c. For example most married employees would love to be free on weekends. As strange as it may sound, asking for the interests and hobbies of potential employees can help the applicants feel relaxed during an interview and also reveal other skills that the recruiter may not know the applicant has. Regardless of all that stated above many people feel such information have no bearing on the job and so therefore they are not useful and are irrelevant. For instance the study about women empowerment in Nigeria revealed that a lot of women prefer to hide their marital status as they are afraid that the recruiter will not give them the job because they are married. Most companies believe married women come with so much baggage. In my opinion, I think this kind of information is important and will help your organization carefully select their workers. After all, these are the people they want to entrust their business to so it is only fair that they find out all they can about them. In conclusion it is important to ask about personal information from potential workers not minding what others think as long as the company uses such information to select the best candidates for the job.