In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree?

There exists a school of thought whether arresting law violators and increasing police control on the roads is not a productive way to minimize the crime rates, whereas addressing the key sources - poor educational and social standards are the way to go and I agree. Ever thought that some people, who break the law may have some emergency reasons for that? Obviously, a father who needs money to pay for an operation that costs an arm and a leg may have to rob the shop or even the bank in order to save his offspring’s life. Therefore, the authorities should create regulation that tackles these kinds of cases and improves the financial situation of citizens. To illustrate, in Canada even homeless people who do not have any type of medical insurance get the appropriate medical support once needed. Indeed, education is a key factor to become financially stable as well as it makes people respect the rules which have an effect on the entire society. As a rule of thumb, people who receive a degree at any educational establishment are likely to find a job and rely on their knowledge in order to enhance their standard of life compared to uneducated people who are limited in options to earn for living. As well, learning enhances people ’s mental abilities and make them more caring towards other people ’s rights and pushes them to preserve laws at all costs in order to live in a safe environment. To illustrate, in most European countries the law violations are the lowest due to the fact that schools and Institutions are free of charge and almost all citizens have a corresponding degree. To sum up, enhancing control on the streets and punishing criminals is just a temporary measure, whereas the long-term solution is to solve the root causes such as hardship and lack of schooling.