The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend?

In today's modern era, more and more kids in the western world have become obese nowadays. The ratio of obesity among youngsters goes up by 20% over the past ten years. The reasons as well as the impact of the phenomenon will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, one of the main reasons is that there are so many fast food restaurants located in western countries, such as McDonald's, Five Guys, KFC...etc. Having high-calorie snacks is part of the youngsters' daily routine. For example, it is common to see students holding a big large coke and eating french fries while they are walking on the street. Secondly, lack of exercise will be another cause of the issue. Foodstuff which contains a large amount of sugar makes people feel sleepy and drowsy, as a result, they tend to feel much lazier to work out. Third, since fast food is quite convenient, easy to obtain, and also much cheaper than other nutritious cuisine, parents prefer to get a full fast-food meal set within 10 minutes, instead of spending more time at a grocery store and in the kitchen preparing a healthy cuisine for their children. The effects of the growing trend are rather worrisome as these overfat kids will soon grow up and cause a heavier burden on society. Firstly, the young generation might become more sluggish and have developmental delays due to obesity. To illustrate, obese students are not only slow in their movement, but in their reaction as well. With that being said, their study performance could be affected accordingly, which contributes to lower productivity when they grow up. Furthermore, being overweight leads to more serious problems and diseases, including diabetes, high blood pressure or angina pectoris, consequently, consuming more medical and social resources. For instance, the government will have to allocate more funds toward medical treatment along with public facilities for these overfat residents. In conclusion, insufficient outdoor activities and poor diet are the main causes of fatness, which results in plentiful diseases and affects human development to a certain degree. The community should take the problems seriously and raise citizens' awareness of maintaining a healthy diet and lifestyle.