In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of diverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

It is often believed that some means of transportation such as cars, trucks and buses will be altered by autonomously controlled vehicles, and passengers will be the only people within these vehicles. While I firmly believe the beneficial aspects can outweigh the disadvantages, I think that the risks that come with autonomy should not be neglected. Some obvious benefits of autonomous vehicles are the reduction in workforce and operating cost. In specific, firms that provide driverless services can efficiently minimize their workforce expense by cutting out a fair number of human drivers. This budget can be reinvested into the research and development projects to enhance the performance of their autonomous technology. Furthermore, most autonomous vehicles are programmed to automatically select the most optimal route to travel between locations, therefore lower the operating cost. Scientists in the fields of operations research and computer science have been putting extensive effort into developing efficient routing algorithms to optimize the traveling distance, which will later be embedded into autonomous vehicles and robots. However, computer malfunction is a possible downside to autonomy that should not be overlooked. In reality, the absolute safety of autonomous vehicles cannot be guaranteed, which means computer defects might still lead to disastrous accidents. As an example, if the sensor systems of an autonomous car are heavily damaged on a highway, it can result in a fatal car crash. In such scenarios, human drivers should still be present to manually monitor the problem, and safely transport the customers to their destinations. In summary, I believe that autonomously controlled vehicles will be beneficial in most cases in the future. However, we should take into consideration the potential risks of accidents, to ensure the safety of passengers inside the vehicles.