Nowadays, many people prefer to seek medical advice on the Internet instead of seeing a qualified doctor. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary period, a large number of people seek medical counseling on the internet instead of making a personal visit to a professional health care provider. There are acceptable reasons for this trend. However, I believe that there are more drawbacks than it's merit. Firstly, getting an advice on the internet is so much easier and more convenient. With the continuing innovation on digitalization, it has immensely benefited individuals to search everything on the internet. For instance, when a person gets sick, he would have to use only his mobile and search the web what possible remedies he can apply to treat his condition. As a result, the person will no longer have to go in person to a medical doctor thus reducing the time for queuing at the hospital or clinics which is sometimes it takes a lot of time before you can be finally seen by a doctor. Secondly, the internet is so much free that any person seeking for medical advice will not have to pay a hefty amount of money for professional fees. This would certainly reduce their expenses and can be spent on more important stuff like food, water and tuition. However, I personally believe that this trend is a negative development. For example, if the persons is already in trouble experiencing an emergency situation, yet he still opt to go online and check for his disease rather than going to the emergency department for the proper treatment. This would negatively affect the person because instead of being cured in a shorter period of time, it might result to a more debilitating illness or problem in the future. In conclusion, albeit the benefits one gets just searching the internet and seeking medical advice, I think it is better to seek for professional advice and pay visit for qualified professionals rather than putting yourself in so much danger.