Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both and give your own opinion.

Numerous teenagers all over the world with strict parents would love to make their own choices but there are also many other teenagers who would love there to be a constant routine in their life. Wheater the child would love to have a scene freedom and individuality, it is the parents' decision to implement this lifestyle. Some parents may have an ideology that this would develop a selfish, whilst others believe that children will learn how to become an independent members of society. Moreover, having self-control over one's life can build independency that causes self-love and builds self-esteem. Tackling real- life problems, for example, financial responsibility (assuming the parent provides a monthly allowance or works at a job) of saving and spending money. It will teach children how to invest and give money to the poor which will build empathy and many more skills that are useful to have in life. Eventually through this lifestyle the trust between a parent and a child increase as now they have a common understanding of life. Also through this way of living the child recognises how to set priorities for important life events. This helps them contribute to society which will build a positive environment and communal trust among everyone. On the other hand, if a parent doesn't want to provide this lifestyle to their child then it will have certain consequences. Such as dependency issues and the development of social anxiety, both of which will have a negative effect on their life. It is commonly seen that parents ask their kids to move out, at the age of eighteen-years-old. So if a child doesn't learn important life lessons then throwing them into a life that they are not used to, then surely they will struggle. Parents would gate keep useful skills that the offspring will need and when seen struggling blame them instead of themselves. I believe parents who do this have a fear of being forgotten when they're old, so they make their children depend on them so they'll always need them in life. Thus giving an excuse, stating children would later become selfish whilst in, reality it is a completely the opposite case. To conclude, I believe that it is really important that children make their own choices and parents provide the needed freedom for developing these skills which will 100% help them in the future. Parents who have fear of being forgotten should learn that providing their child with a free life would later build trust and a healthy relationship between them, this will result in a positive attitude towards living which will later reflect on the whole community.