Nowadays, young people spend much of their time watching TV and playing video games. Some people think these activities are bad for a young person's mental and physical health. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, teenagers tend to use almost all of their time to watch TV and play video games. Because of this, many people believe that these activities are bad for young people’s mental and physical health. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement because these interests are only harmful to the young’s health when they are overdone, and if they watch TV and play games moderately, it is a good way to learn. When TV and video games are overused, it has negative effects not only on the psychological but also on the physical health of youngsters. First, staring at the screens for prolonged hours can easily cause several eye diseases, such as myopia and eyestrain, because of the blue light from the device’s screens. Moreover, sitting or lying down for too long can hurt the spine and seriously increase the risk of chronic health problems. Finally, by spending much of their time on these interests, teenagers could suffer from anxiety and depression, especially when watching horror movies or playing violent games. Therefore, they might find it difficult to communicate and would be afraid of society. On the other hand, adolescents can learn a lot from these hobbies. First, by using these devices, they would have practical knowledge of technology and a good understanding of how to use it. Secondly, games train not only the movement of the hand to play and type fast but also the brain to think quickly. Especially, playing puzzle games can increase IQ and teach many essential skills, such as problem-solving and improving memory and concentration. Finally, watching TV is an interesting and visual way of learning. For example, when studying about animals’ lives, young people can learn about them from descriptions in textbooks, but if they watch TV, they will understand exactly and clearly how animals move and hunt. In conclusion, watching TV and playing video games are only bad for young adults’ health if they overuse them. Actually, doing these activities moderately and regularly is an entertaining and effective way for adolescents to learn. Thus, the young generation should spend less time on these devices and do exercises or hang out to meet friends.