Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore students should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that regular physical exercise plays an essential role in human health. Some people believe that ensuring the physical fitness of children is the sole responsibility of parents, this way, students do not need the necessity to spend time doing sports at school. I partially disagree with this point and insist that it is the joint responsibility of parents and schools. I will present the reasons in the subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the onus is on parents to ensure the fitness of their children and they are completely responsible for raising them in both mental and physical health. This is because pupils can be supervised by their parents in a simple way unlike at schools where it is impossible to provide individual attention. For instance, if a child is interested in any type of sport such as basketball, parents will definitely play a crucial role in encouraging their child and ensuring that his or her interest is pursued. As a result, children will feel motivated to follow their passion and be physically fit. On the other hand, physical lessons should be mandatory as part of the syllabus because they will stimulate a competitive attitude in students not only for sports but also for other subjects. Besides, it will help them learn how to collaborate with their peers as a team which will be advantageous for them in long run. For instance, most schools offer a wide range of sports like football, and baseball as compulsory subjects. The pupils not only compete with their friends to prove their mettle but also improve their friendships. Moreover, it is seen that physically fit students often perform better in studies because they are improved mental health by taking part in any regular exercise at school. In conclusion, although parents are responsible for their children's physical development, in my view, it is the combined responsibility of the parents and the school.