Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

In modern days, adults often asked high schools to apply public welfare programmes for teenagers. However, volunteerism and public service are optional for everyone; therefore, I disagree with this opinion. The adults just need to encourage the young to take part in volunteer clubs instead of forcing them. On the one hand, it is advantageous for teenagers to join volunteer activities. To begin with, public service not only provides students with practical experience but also enhances their soft skills because of the different types of people they have met in projects. Second of all, this unpaid community service also includes activities which prevent the environment from interior issues. It helps them enrich their environmental knowledge and know how to improve their own region. Finally, it is appreciated for the young to be able to help others without expecting a return. This would lead to a better society where people care for each other. On the other hand, the core value of applying for public welfare programmes at schools is teenagers’ joyfulness in serving the community. To achieve this, the principles of the schools should launch trial programmes lasting 3-5 days in summer, which help juveniles explore more about themselves and consider whether they should participate in these programmes. Moreover, parents could show them the meaning of volunteerism and public service, it is for every individual but it is not an obligation. To conclude, teenagers are old enough to make decisions on their own, we should not put any pressure on them. If they understand the values of volunteer activities, they will be ready to do it.