In many part of the world, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, parents tend to give more freedom to their kids in comparison with the past in most societies. Although this freedom can be beneficial for children in some aspects of their lives, the disadvantages related to this issue can not be underestimated. On the plus side, children who are given more freedom are more independent due to the responsibilities they are involved with. as a result of this independency, these individuals have more educational and job opportunities in the future because being apart from family is not hard for them. Take going abroad for higher education or a good job as an example. In addition, people who experience freedom in childhood are more confident in adulthood. As confidence is one of the success factors, these people are more likely to become successful not only in their educational lives but also in their vocations. However, giving freedom to a child has its own drawbacks. Children because of being inexperienced may do some tasks wrong or put themselves in danger. Some of these unpleasant experiences may destroy someone’s confidence or in harmful conditions can damage a child physically or mentally that needs years of treatment. Being abused by a criminal, for instance, can affect someone’s life in a way that is irrecoverable. Lots of mental problems are rooted in childhood. To conclude, the freedom given to people in their childhood has both negative and positive points. Although such children can be more confident and independent, some harsh experiences that happened in their childhood might have detrimental effects on their physical and mental health. I profoundly believe that this trend’s consequences are far more positive than negative and a condition in which an under control freedom given to children may change their future positively.