Some people say that in all levels of education from primary to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. do you agree or disgree?

With the differences in focus in education over time, there have been heated debates about whether or not schools, from primary to university, should emphasize more on practical skills. While some convey that students should spend more time learning facts, others maintain that youngsters should gain more live experience via lessons. Given the curriculum of classes and the importance of learning facts, I utterly believe that the schools are spending just the right amount of time on both academics and practical knowledge. In regard to the extensive education we have in Hong Kong, students are exposed to an array of subjects that teach them factual ideas and living techniques. For example, participating in volunteer work is mandatory so as to develop positive personal traits and interpersonal skills in school children. Besides, most, if not all, academics include classes like cooking and sewing in order to let the younger generation experience different everyday occasions. Despite the fact that more hours are spent on academic subjects, such as mathematics and languages, I believe the current teaching curriculum has delivered just the right amount of time in different aspects. Hence, I am totally satisfied with the conventional education plan where facts and practical skills are included. On the other hand, knowledge of textbooks provides a fundamental understanding of different subjects which allow them to map out their future career pathway. Let us not forget that schools are to prepare the youth for their future life and working takes up an enormous part in life. If students only learn skills, like repairing light sockets and using washing machines, they would not be able to pick their focus in university or determine their vocation. Therefore, it is undoubtedly necessary for them to experiment on a wide range of subjects before they can locate where their interest and natural talents converge, and decide where their expertise lies. Having discussed that the current teaching syllabus has balanced the amount of time spent on both aspects and rudimentary knowledge is necessary to be employed, I am affirmative that all levels of education satisfy different needs.