online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is definitely true that activities related to commerce are shifting from physical stores toward electronic-based platforms. The advent of this trend is inevitable as digitalisation has become a central part of human activities on a daily basis. Personally, I tend to assume that the growth of the e-commerce phenomenon worldwide will bring positive benefits to society. First and foremost, when countries digitise their shopping platforms, they will gain a spill-over effect on their domestic economies. Harnessing digital innovation in the business sector will automatically widen access for people to make transactions or buy goods, especially for those who reside in remote areas. For example, the implementation of Ali Pay in China’s rural areas has brought evidence that utilising the online application for shopping could create an equal opportunity for citizens to participate in bargaining. By doing this, it will bolster the economic cycle from rural areas to urban areas and rocket the national gross domestic product (GDP) rate. Second, the positive ramification of changing the buying platform from offline to online will improve the countries ’ international market access penetration since the internet omits the boundaries of nations. This effect will be beneficial for countries to improve their export rate and attain more revenue due to the larger market options that can be targeted. For instance, e-commerce has boosted economics in emerging countries like Indonesia and Malaysia which allowed producers within those countries to get broader market access globally, resulting in the growth rate of entrepreneurs as well as foreign exchange values from trading activities. In conclusion, the shift of activity of buying goods to online platforms has various positive outcomes, including equal domestic market access and a broader international target market.