Although family is a powerful influence on child's life, it is also influenced from outside the home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A child's life is influenced by their family as well as outside the home. Many sociologists debate between nature and nuture nature. A child's biological makeup and their environment are both strongly going to influence how they behave. First of all, the family should provide their children with behavioural techniques. When a child is having a temper tantrum, parents should help them to calm down with breathing exercises. Outside of the home children will learn certain behaviours. Some will be positive and some will be negative. An example of positive behaviour they may pick up outside of the home are manners. Growing up my family didn't teach me as many manners as I learned outside of the home. For example at dinner time, we all ate at different times and not necessarily together as a family. When I went over to a friend's house though, I learned that eating together all at once as a family is better to improve the family dynamic. I come from a very educated family. My parents went to Harvard so they instilled in me a love for learning. In high school, however, I used to skip school sometimes to spend time with my friends. My parents didn't like that and tried to change that behaviour by keeping me in on weeknights to complete my homework. I ran away from home and started doing a few drugs. Some negative influences I picked up outside of the home was smoking cigarettes. My family was very against cigarette smoke but peer pressure got to me, especially in high school. In conclusion I would debate that both my family and outside the home influenced me but I was more heavily influenced by people outside of my family.