Ownership of mobile phones has risen dramatically in recent years despite the potentially harmful effects they may have on health and the society. Governments should introduce measures to restrict ownership of mobile phones to those who need them for work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is hard to imagine living without a mobile phone, almost everyone has it, even children. It can be quite disturbing considering that the effects they may have, aren’t well researched yet. Therefore, it has been discussed if governments should put any restrictions on their usage and allow phones only for work purposes. First of all, it has to be pointed out, that mobile phones have harmful effects not only on our health but also on society in general. According to the statistics, phones are the number one cause of incidents. It is either the driver or the pedestrian who is mindlessly using their phone while being on the road or crossing the street. It is easy to forget and lose oneself in the online world. Another health-related concern is that phone signals have harmful effects on the brain, destroying the neurons. Also, our social life seems to be getting destroyed by smartphones. Social media are more stimulating than real life and it results in many people checking their mobile phones while being on a meeting with their real-life friends. It can become addictive and therefore we might need to consider how to reduce that risk. On the other hand, there are many situations where having a phone might be life-saving as well. For example, in case of an emergency, having a phone is usually the only way to contact someone and get quick help. Also, thanks to smartphones, we are able to stay in touch with people around the world and maintain connections. Its positive effects could have been observed during the COVID-pandemic in which time it immensely helped so many people stay sane and not feeling lonely. To conclude, I believe that we shouldn’t restrict the technology that already exist but we need to use it wisely. Therefore, I believe that putting any governmental limitations on phones isn’t a solution. Instead, we should rather educate people, and especially children, on the harmful effects of their mobile devices. Only this way we can prevent the above-mentioned dangers, without restricting anyone’s freedom.