In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive? or negative?

It is prevalently observed that the authorities have tried to reduce traffic by imposing a congestion tax during rush hour. From this aspect, questions about whether this phenomenon is a positive or negative development are raised. In my opinion, imposing a congestion tax is ideal. Irrefutably, citizens are more likely to utilise public transport. This is because they spend a small amount of transportation costs to take the transport compared to driving vehicles and rarely pay congestion taxes. This obviously leads to saving money and this turn allows them to invest in other sectors, such as housing rent, education, and living costs. What is more, although the convenience of driving cannot be ignored, those who are not driving become healthy. In actual fact, health studies undertaken by experts have revealed that individuals walking or using transports tend to walk at least 30 minutes a day and have a low obesity rate so, they can live a prolonged life more than drivers. Nevertheless, the tax pressure increases. In other words, since the installation of tax stations and staff employment are more likely to make a rise in general traffic tax as well as congestion tax, each driver would pay a great deal of traffic taxes, so they can struggle with saving money in daily life. To recapitulate, the tax pressure increases but citizens are more likely to utilise public transport and those who are not driving become healthy. Thus, imposing a congestion tax is ideal.