More and more people and organisations are using digital technology for contact with other people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using digital technology for communication?

Interaction with other people is extremely crucial nowadays as a result of enlarging civilization and globalization. There are basically two ways of communication, in-person and online. In my opinion, people use the latter more frequently. I have mentioned several merits and demerits of online meetings in this essay. According to me, the biggest advantage of digital meetings is that it allows us to contact anyone in any corner of the globe. Furthermore, the trend of this technology has increased especially after the COVID pandemic in which regardless of distance and time, people could communicate with others. Sometimes, it takes more time and money to travel to distant places for meetings, job interviews and conferences. The Internet provides us with a platform through which we can attend all types of meetings as well as can consult with any physician and pharmacist. Besides, commercial use, this technology can also help us in remain touch with our close ones who live far from us. Secondly, online meetings can be recorded for further use. For example, a recorded version of a tutorial for a certain project could be sent to many required people. Additionally, recorded videos can be used to find some mistakes and revisions. This characteristic is generally advantageous for students. They can watch many lectures from various professors through digital media. On the other hand, face-to-face communication is better for conversing with emotions. The actual feelings of another person can only be recognized by facial expressions and body gestures. For instance, if one has to console his friend, it is more appropriate to talk to him in person, unless he is far away. In conclusion, digital technology has improved communication opportunities for the public. Though it has the disadvantage of showing feelings, its benefits can easily overweigh a single drawback.