Museums should display art of their own country, or they should display art from all over the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (May 2021) Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays museums are one of the most popular attractions amongst the international tourists. It is crucial to decide whether they must exhibit art that reflects their own country or from different countries throughout the world. I totally agree that the displays must reflect its own nation. In this essay I will explain why I feel so. One of the main reasons of presenting art of their own country is the knowledge behind it. The original inhabitants know the real stories their creative work better than any other in the world. This could be because they have read and heard enough stories from their grandparents and other people revealing the real meaning behind making them. Furthermore, It is exciting for tourists to listen to those stories by a local guide who belongs to a generation doing it for years. Another major reason is cultural promotion. Every country must use their museums to display their own art in order to promote culture and heritage. Having said that, if all nations present their own creations it will attract more tourists. Moreover, it also makes one’s country famous for its art, thereby increasing the inflow of money through tourism. For example, millions of people around the globe visit India to Jahangir’s Art Museum. In conclusion, although it is a very debatable topic, I would still completely agree upon displaying the art from one’s own country rather than from several other nations. This will not only maintain the accuracy of knowledge and also attract more international visitors.