People who live in cities often complain about traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest

Traffic congestion is increasingly becoming popular in most urban centres and this has led to the citizens frequently raising concerns about it. This essay shall first of all elaborate on the causes of this and further suggest remedial solutions to help curtail this menace. To begin with, there are numerous reasons that have led to traffic jams in the metropolis. Firstly, an increase in private vehicles is one of the major causes. Many individuals living in the city prefer using their own cars instead of public transport to commute to work. Although this makes them comfortable in the end poses threat to other drivers since the road will be overcrowded thereby leading to road congestion and accidents. Also, traders who hawk on these streets make the road congested by their hustling and bustling nature which later impeded the movement of vehicles and people as well. To buttress this point, research conducted in Ghana by the roads commission revealed that traffic jams increased four-fold as a result of increased use of private transport in the year 2020. However, there are effective methods that can be employed to mitigate this problem. First of all, higher authorities should tax all private users in order to generate more revenue which can be used in building infrastructures such as road construction in order to reduce traffic congestion. Furthermore, this will encourage the majority of individuals to patronize the use of public vehicles more and subsequently mitigate traffics and ensure the free movement of cars and also reduce lateness at work. For instance, citizens in the UK who stopped using their own cars and switched to the usage of buses say that they feel comfortable using public transport as this has made their movement to work faster. In conclusion, an increase in private car usage and street hawking by some traders are the main causes of traffic jams in urban areas. But taxation on these vehicles and encouraging the citizens to patronize public buses are effective ways to combat traffic congestion in cities.