Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festival; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?.

These days, festivals are held and celebrated without actually knowing the meaning or intentions behind. They are set up mainly because they are something people occasionally do. I partially agree with the statement that People focus on enjoying themselves, but hardly remembered the values and meaning of those traditions with my reasons explained in this essay. To begin with, traditional or religious festivals are passing on to generations through actions and teachings. People tend to follow their predecessors, thus celebrate and hold festivals. They not only know when to celebrate but also why they are important to their backgrounds. For instance, Songran day, a traditional festival, that allows individuals to enjoy splashing water, also a special occasion for the descendants to pay respect to both their living and deceased ancestors. Almost every thai people know the values and reasons behind this festive occasion because we were taught since we were young. Moreover, when it comes to Buddhist clebrations, many buddhists realize the importance. Visakha bucha day represents the birth date, enlightenment day and death date of the Buddha. However, there are festivals celebrated that meanings are forgotten. This is because the focus has been on the excitement and fun rather than the history and origin of them. Phi Ta Khon, a local Thai festival that is celebrated annually hardly been recognized by its true meaning for allowing auspicious circumstances to occur. In summary, being forgotten for its own value or not hugely depend on the public. If they pay attention to roots, the history and meaning will remain and keep on living.