In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Opinion on the trend that an increasing number of people tend to live in nuclear families rather than extended ones has been largely divided. From my standpoint, I advocate with those who believe it is a negative trend though the opposite pattern brings some basic merits. Admittedly, living in a small family group offers people some remarkable benefits. Firstly, it grants them the chance to pursue their life passions and personal hobbies. Being involved in a small family gives them more freedom to reach their own goals without contributing much time to other family members or taking care of them. Secondly, living alone is often considered as a way for them not to worry about family responsibilities. In other words, people will have more opportunities to spend time with themselves since they don't have to deal with such things stemming from living in large groups namely family responsibilities and household duties. Notwithstanding the aforementioned ideas, I am of the opinion that staying in extended family groups brings more overwhelming advantages. It is evident that people will find it easier to look after other members when living with many generations in a family. Not to mention the whole downsides that living alone brings, many old ones nowadays have lost their ability to perform daily tasks. In other words, the old have to encounter many challenging factors on a daily basis such as deteriorating health and diminishing autonomy, so they need assistance from other members. In addition, living in large family groups also helps children with more chances to reach comprehensive development. Many young parents currently have to deal with a massive amount of workloads and being involved in a hectic lifestyle. As a result, they have to send their kids to childcare centres early, so those living in extended families can send them to other family members and the children would receive more love and happiness early. To conclude, although the trend of living alone brings people some fundamental benefits namely: following their desire and avoiding household responsibilities, it seems that those points can be ironed out because of the downsides it brings and also the advantages when living in extended families.