Some people think that strict punishment for driving offences are the key to reduce accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views.

Nowadays, a group of people believe that to improve road safety, it is vital to have some strict rules and penalties for offending drivers. By contrast, others think that there are other more important factors to solve safeties of roads. In this essay, I will discuss both views. To begin with, the population and the number of vehicles have increased significantly in the last few decades. So, without any hesitation, it is important to impose strict punishments for those who threaten the safety of roads with their driving. For example, for people who drive in a dangerous way, and do not attention to the traffic lights or traffic signs, there should be high penalties such as fines or prison sentences. If this can be done in a good way, it will result in driving carefully. Moreover, it is common knowledge that there are other measures that need to be done in addition to strict rules. Firstly, schools should teach traffic rules from the beginning of the education process which definitely help them to be a better driver in the future. Secondly, the authorities and governments should set up highway designs in a better way. For instance, they can set up safety marks on the edge of the road which motivates people to drive safely or speed signs which help the drivers to find out about the speed limit. In a nutshell, it is impossible to say only one of the subjects from above can completely solve the road safety problem because all of the points mentioned, are significant and they cannot be separated.