Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. Do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, some believe it will be more beneficial if authorities invest more in railways instead of roads. It is an inevitable fact that this idea can lead to increasing the cost of development of transporting systems and decreasing the quality of roads as the most significant transporting ways for the majority of people. I strongly disagree that governments prioritize the construction of railways over roads. To begin with, the first and major reason is developing railways create financial difficulties for countries and they will need a huge amount of money for achieving these goals. Extending railways systems are more expensive than roads. So, more budget will be assigned by the governments and absolutely is not cost-efficient. For example, in some developing countries, because of the growth in population rate, constructing more railways has created lack of money budget for them. Hence, focusing on developing roads is more sufficient. Moreover, the majority of people have been driving on various roads because of different reasons and the number of them is far more than railways passengers. As a result, the quality of roads plays a crucial role in arriving at their destinations safely. Spending money on renovating or building roads can help the public to drive with more confidence. For instance, some reports show the rate of roads death have been decreasing when the governments plans are developing important roads in their countries. To sum up, in spite of some argue that spending money on railways is more necessary than on roads, some believe the opposite. In my idea, retaining the majority of people who drive and use the roads every day is more important and the government have to have some reasonable methods for achieving these targets.