Students in school and university learn far more from lessons with their teachers compared to other sources, such as the television or the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

Students who study in schools and universities benefit more from teachers compared to other options, namely television and the internet. I disagree with this statement because I believe that other sources make it easy for students to clarify their doubts, and visual learning enhances how much information is going into pupils’ brains. Firstly, the ease of searching through the web eliminates the hassle that goes into solving doubts. That is to say that students can type specific key words into YouTube and get videos that are related to the subject in a matter of clicks. For example, when a student doesn’t understand a certain part of the process of photosynthesis, he can find many lessons curated for that topic on Google or YouTube. Teachers, on the other hand, cannot be as efficient as the internet in quickly solving a doubt. Secondly, videos and animations are better at instilling information into the minds of students compared to typical lessons at universities. Nowadays, many videos are made to captivate their minds and keep them in constant focus because they use attractive images and vibrant colours. For example, a survey was done in Finland with two groups of students; one group was taught in classrooms by regular tutors, and the other learned by watching videos related to the same lesson. This test showed that the second group had a better understanding of the topic than the first group. In conclusion, university and school students who use other ways of learning, such as TV and the internet, learn more than from lessons conducted by teachers. This is because of how easy it is to find solutions to their doubts on the internet and the fact that visual education is far more optimised for delivering knowledge to students.