Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

All of the synthesis products are detrimental to the ecosystem we are living in. There are countless damages plastics do to the environment including soil, vegetation,and animal lives. There are measures that government and people can take to prevent such harm. Leaving behind plastics in the ecosystem is perilous due to their resilient features. Considering that they will be intact for about a thousand years and not decompose in the cycle of nature. Hence, animals can swallow these products or get stuck which will result in fatal consequences or perhaps the extinction of a particular animal. For instance, there were numerous reports regarding the death of white sharks,which are highly short in numbers, eating plastic products left stranded in the oceans. Furthermore, they will not decompose in the soil, so they will be the same as on day one even after a thousand years. The concern is that the soil would be filled with these products after a century or two. To illustrate it better, imagine a land filled with these products and there will be no place for grasses or plants to grow. To begin with solutions, I believe that government play a crucial role in tackling this issue by implementing plans restricting the use of plastic products. Plans like incentives for not using plastic bags for shop owners or plastic bottles for manufacturers. Moreover, increasing the price of plastic materials and educating individuals, especially the younger generation, on using replacements like linen shop bags that can be used several times. There are so many steps, also that can people take to make a dent in the use of plastics. For example using exclusive types of equipment like an individual mug for water, a shopping cart for buying in supermarkets, and a period cup instead of tampons to decrease the need for using plastics. To conclude, I strongly believe that we have one planet to live on and protect, so this is not an argument but it is a responsibility for each and every one of us to preserve this beautiful and magnificent planet for future generations. Although it might look like a burden on governments to spend money on this issue, it is not a choice to make. It is something critical that they should focus on.