In some countries, some of the criminal cases in the low courts are shown on the television, so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, the criminal cases in the law courts are shown on television so that the public can watch them. Although this may raise the public's awareness of criminals, the disadvantages exist that they are violating the human rights of the offenders. In this essay, I will prove that in this case, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, the advantage of showing judgment of conviction on television to the community are that this will raise the public's awareness of criminals. For example, if it's about an individual being kidnapped, people will be aware of their own safety. Furthermore, as the case was watched by the public, it will receive questions from the public. Thus, the case will be scrutinized carefully. For example, a case of stolen goods was broadcast on TV and received questions which make the judges consider more about the problems and thus, the case will be more transparent. On the other hand, showing cases on TV may violate the human rights of the offender. The privacy of the offender should be respected, without considering what crime he committed. For instance, in a law court, the media should ask the offender whether he prefers filming the case or not. This will guarantee privacy of the offender. In conclusion, even though broadcasting cases on TV will raise awareness, the disadvantages are that this may violate the rights of criminals.