Some people argue that school is no longer necessary because children can obtain all of the information they need from the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present day, the usage of technology is constantly on the rise. Even classrooms are among the places that enjoy such advancement. Some people argue that students can learn completely online without going to their schools. I completely disagree with their claim and in my opinion, the internet can never ever overthrow the traditional style of learning. The following essay elaborates as to why the current school system can not be substituted by the internet. Firstly, not all the students are interested in every subject they essentially need to learn. While some are self-motivated, the others need a personal touch to get them started with the subject. The online platforms available today are hardly capable of dealing with the motivational aspect of students. For instance, students across the world are not disciplined enough to follow the desired schedule by themselves and often depend upon their elders to police them for studying. Hence, the online mode of learning fails to cater to the motivational needs of a student. Secondly, apart from having just the knowledge of different subjects, students need to develop their interpersonal skills as they grow, to have a better chance of success in their careers. The internet is not even remotely equipped to fetch the needs of the overall personal growth. For instance, schools offer various group activities and sports, under supervised conditions that build their confidence which is not possible to inculcate virtually. Hence, if the students are trying to study only from the information online, they may end up losing very important aspects of life such as courage. In summary, Although technology can help students find information at convenience of their homes it is barely capable of developing interests and endorsing the personal growth of the students. Hence it will never be an alternative to the school system.