Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

Over the past 5 decades, the tourism business has been booming all around the world. Although it has obvious merits in the business aspect, its demerits in the environmental aspect are not negligible. In my opinion, the disadvantages of tourism would be outweighed in the long run. From an economic perspective, income from tourism contributes a significant portion of countries’ GDP for almost every country across the globe. Tourism creates many job opportunities for locals such as tour guides, handcrafting, and many roles in hospitality careers. Even in remote areas such as islands located middle ocean, with the help of tour programs, inhabitants can develop certain businesses focusing on their tourist customers. Hence, when the tourism industry flourishes, businesses will be developed accordingly both in urban and country regions. While it has such prosperous upsides in the economic aspect, tourism also has its detrimental downsides in the environmental aspect. In order to develop the required transportation infrastructures - highway roads, airports - to facilitate tourism in the region, the government has to deforest and destroy the natural habitats of many animals. Additionally, because of the consumption of more fossil fuel by aeroplanes, cars, trains, and ships for transportation, air and oceans are polluted which has damaging impacts not only on plants and animals but also on human beings' life. In conclusion, although tourism has its flourishing benefits for local people in cities and villages across the country, I still believe that its harmful disadvantages would be outweighed in the long run in accordance with the growth of the industry.