The best way to solve world’s environment problem is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion.

With the increase in population and ever rising supply of non-renewable energy, pollution emitting fuels are the biggest threat to the environment. Some people suggest that charging more for consumption of fuel is the best solution to limit its effects. I disagree with the claim and the following essay provides evidence to support my position. Firstly, not all fuel production and consumption are disruptive to our habitat. There are plethora of renewable sources of energy which produce a great deal of fuel without being havoc on nature. For instance, the production of electricity by tidal and wind waves yields an insignificant amount of hazardous products, if not none. As another example, the sharp inclination of the masses towards the use of natural gas and electricity for cooking than the traditional ways of burning charcoal for this purpose already minimizes the damage done to the mama earth. However, taxing the use of traditional sources of energy that are unhealthy for our biosphere may encourage people to shift to improved alternatives for the same. But, since old methods are inconvenient and inefficient, people are naturally shifting to new ways. For example, most of the trains that were once based on the steam engines are now being powered by electric systems. Hence, the sheer ease that the new technology has to offer, facilitates people to adapt to the less environment-depleting choices. In conclusion, though the generation and consumption of some fuels might have a negative impact on the earth, it is not always the case. There is a trend to produce and consume non-hazardous fuel. Hence, in my opinion, making it expensive to access fuel is not the most effective strategy to conserve nature. Instead, it can be achieved by encouraging renewable sources.