In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, the population has been ageing steadily. Whereas senior citizens are well respected due to their experiences and knowledge, the growth in the elderly population can cause negative impacts on the development of society. In the next few decades, a large number of middle-aged people will be retired. This means that they no longer contribute to the income of the society, resulting in a decrease in the GDP of the country. Moreover, old people leaving the workforce can lead to a labour shortage which put a heavily negative effect on the growth of the economy and society. For example, a factory cannot fulfil its orders on time, or a state is unable to open more schools due to the lack of workers and teachers. Hence, it is hard to develop a country without young citizens. Also, a high rate of older people can be a burden for the community and family. As the proportion of the elderly population increases, so will the demand for healthcare services, as well as pension collections, which can be a challenge for the government to provide adequate resources for older adults. Furthermore, youngsters sometimes have to give up their work or pay a considerable amount of money to hire a caregiver in order to take care of their elder family members. This can put a strain on the finance of the family. To sum up, although an ageing population is often the sign of a healthy society, countries have to face several challenges. Therefore, this could be a negative development in the long term.