As the number of cars increases, more money has to be spent on road systems. Some people think the government should pay for this. Others, however, think that drivers should cover the costs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that government should be responsible for bearing the cost of road development due to a steady increase in vehicle production while others believe it's an individual role to bear the costs. I think the government is responsible for improving road infrastructure totally. Roads are essential for a country's growth and economic prosperity and there are several reasons the government should fund road systems. Firstly, It is a basic civil right for an individual to have access to roads, these roads enable regions, and towns to better develop sewerage, water and health institutions to function effectively for instance, the government of Pakistan built a 300 miles motorway that stretches from Gwadar port to the provincial capital city Quetta, this has enabled traders to transport goods more frequently and has reduced the travel time up to 40 minutes. Secondly, Since maintaining roads does not put an excessive burden on the state's treasury so therefore funds should be allocated from the annual budget itself. Finally, the development of roads enables remote regions of the country to connect with each other, resulting in an economic boom. On the other hand, it would be unjustified if we were to impose a levy on people for purchasing cars. This would discourage manufacturers and the government could lose a potential tax source and many private transporters will also face the brunt of this surcharge which will result in increased inflation. Furthermore, people who are already financially challenged because of costly bills, rent, and high cost of living can lead them to live below the poverty line. In conclusion, I believe charging individuals for road expenses proves to be overwhelming and only governments have the capability to afford this expense.