Very few school children learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as a part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

Schools usually deal with different academic subjects while overlook teaching money management skills. This is why many students, who do well in school, struggle while taking care of their finances in real life. Academic studies and financial intelligence cannot be seen as inherent contradictions but as two mutually independent competencies. So, I believe that the value of money and money management should be taught in schools. The author of the book “Rich Dad Poor Dad” terms Financial Independence as you being able to make your money work for you and not the other way around. Students who get to learn about how to spend, invest and save money rarely find themselves in financial predicaments despite what their salaries bring in. Such skills are often inculcated through family and teachers. And students, who lack these skills, usually find themselves with insufficient funds no matter how much their jobs pay them. They never learn to develop their assets. It renders them dependents on their jobs for life as it is their only source of income. The earnings are mostly spent on their liabilities leaving them with paltry savings. If money management is taught as a part of the school curriculum, all the students will get a chance to learn such skills. They will grow up to have more knowledge of money and finance. Consecutively, they will have a better perspective while making financial decisions. This will lead to a more stable, enriched and self-reliant society. Lessons learned in schools last for a long and that is why teaching money management to students is so vital. To conclude, earning money may not be the goal in life but it is the money that provides us with our basic needs and a sense of security. Learning the skills to value and handle money is a crucial part of life. Thus, I believe that lessons for financial management should be made a part of the school curriculum so that more and more students can have a financially stable future.