In some countries, owing a home rather than renting is very important. *why might this be the case *Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In several countries, owning a residential property is much more important than leasing one for citizens. In this essay, I will explain why this could be caused and if it could be a negative circumstance. Firstly, many people think that holding a house could be a symbol of wealth and they would like to show their friends and colleagues in order to fulfil their desire for fame. For instance, Japanese people used to think that having their own house was a symbol of economic affluence and the majority of them tried to work so hard for buying a house. Furthermore, it can be much easier to renovate any room without a permit. Residents who have their real estate can change the interior and exterior of the house as they want whereas people who pay a rental fee may not remodel them based on a contract with their housing owner. However, this could be a negative tendency because a lot of people can suffer from housing loans for several decades. In fact, many American people suffered financially and many of them lost their property when the subprime mortgage crisis occurred. Moreover, it can be difficult to move to another place if residents face an issue with neighbours because once they have a home, they may not have the economic affordability to change the residential site. From research about residential issues in South Korea, 60% of those having their own home say that they would not be able to move out even if they were involved in noise or other neighbourhood problems. To sum up, it may be more valuable for some people to have their own residential property than to lease one in order to meet their desire for fame and remodel their rooms. However, this might not be a great situation because of financial issues and disputes with the neighbours.