The best way to motivate employees is to increase their salaries. Do you agree with this statement? Are there any other ways to encourage employees to work more efficiently? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed by some that money is the most effective drive for a worker. I disagree with the view because I believe that there are other factors that affect one's working performance. A satisfying and fulfilling job consists of a bunch of elements, and the amount of pay is only a part of the whole picture. There are several conditions that I believe are significant as well, such as the quality of relationships with colleagues and leaders, promotion prospects and the working environment. For example, if you have a lot of conflicts with the team you are working with, you foresee a low probability of climbing up the career ladder, and you have to work in an unpleasant and tiny office, you probably would not excel and work efficiently, even with a noticeable higher salary. I believe that the best way to boost motivation is to provide opportunities for employees to utilize their talents, work for their interests, and acknowledge their effort. That comes from spending time communicating with the team and putting everyone in a position that best fit. To illustrate, an employer could find out the passion of a kitchen hand through communication and observation, to decide whether he is suitable for dish-washing, meat cutting, baking or any other duties. The kitchen hand would feel respected and find himself valuable for the job, which is a kind of internal driving power that I reckon is more sustainable and stronger than external attractions like money. Furthermore, the employer should discuss with the workers timely about their long-term development and ensure they have an equal chance to promote from their current position. Last but not least, maintaining a safe, clean and appropriate workplace is also of paramount importance. In conclusion, improving salaries is one of the many incentives at work but not necessarily the most effective method. In my opinion, valuing the endeavour of the employee, considering their position from their perspectives, and providing a clear promotion plan and a well-maintained working environment are better ways to motivate people.