Many elderly are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages

These days, a lot of senior citizens are placed in old age homes instead of being taken care by their family members. This essay will discuss merits and demerits of this trend. Firstly, sending elderly to nursing homes and care home is advantageous for their families because they are relieved from the burden of their elders’ medical care. These centres are well equipped and know how to deal with the needs of the elderly as well as reacting appropriately in case of any emergency. In contrast, families of these old people are rarely trained and not equipped with knowledge in case any mishap occurs. Secondly, it is beneficial for senior people as well because they do not feel unwanted and left out at home. When they are placed in retirement homes they get a chance to socialise themselves with other people of their age group. A crucial downside to putting elder members of families in care homes or nursing homes is that children in those families lack traditional and moral values. Nowadays, both parents are working, and they do not have ample amount of time to spend with their children and impart them knowledge about good and bad behaviour. Grandparents not only play an instrumental role to pass down the knowledge of one’s family traditions and cultures to their grandparents but they also make them learn the basic principles of mankind. Also, peoples’ life become more struggling because they remain deprived of the support which elder people of a family can provide in their day –to-day life. As per a survey in India, all 8 out of 10 families where elders are living along are spending a more relaxed and happy life than those where elders are not staying with. In conclusion, while young generation is free from the worries of their elder peoples’ medical care, this trend also has a negative impact on grandchildren’s rearing and everyday lives of current generation.