Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that animal experiments are always a controversial issue, some believe that these experiments and tests ought to be forbidden, while others tend toward maintaining the operation as it has brought benefits to humankind. In the following paragraph, both views will be explored, and I will express my point of view about the issue. On the one hand, there are clear ethical arguments against animal experimentation. Many moral issues arise from the process while exploiting other creatures to be tested and withstand the effects of medicine or diseases for humans, in some cases, even leading to death. Opponents opine that human beings have no right to conduct such activities as all life should be treated equally and respected. They believe that the benefit of humans should not justify the suffering caused and scientists ought to seek out an alternative way to replace such unethical action. On the other hand, though I reckon animal experimentation is unethical, I have to support that limited animal experiments should still be conducted. It is undeniable that many effective and pivotal medications were invented due to animal experimentation. Vaccine, for example, has saved millions of lives, especially during the endemic period such as covid 19. Without it, it is hard to envisage how dreadful the consequences can be. Animal experimentation does exist certain moral issues; however, it still has irreplaceable importance for human beings. In conclusion, animal experiments do have ethical issues; however, it is so far the most effective way for saving people’s lives.