many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less Sugar. do you agree or disagree?

it is accepted that high amounts of sugar in different processed food and drinks may lead to getting several diseases. some people believe that increasing the price of sugary goods can prevent people from using too much sugar. however, I personally believe that it is not the best way to reduce these products consumption. rising the price of any commodities might bring about some negative results. firstly, when the value of a good goes up, many people will be deprived of using it. in other words, it is not their choice to consume less. they are forced by the economic situation. Secondly, it is worth noting that excessive usage of sugar can cause health problems. therefore, individuals have to pay more despite the fact that they do not decide to consume high levels of sugar. finally, when the price of a commodity climbs, the value of other goods will respond to this change relatively. consequently, the inflation rate will increase and families' welfare will decline. for example, when the price of essential goods increased in our country, Iran, due to increasing the exchange rate, the inflation rate went up rapidly. there are other efficient ways which are able to control sugary products consumption. to begin with, families should be informed about the consequences of excessive use of sugar such as high blood pressure. Moreover, governments should warn the community of medication costs in case of involving a chronic disease created by malnutrition. in conclusion, it is undeniable that containing high levels of sugar in the diet may lead to several illnesses. although some commentators claim that making sugary food expensive can encourage the community to use less, I personally believe that other ways like raising public awareness can act more effectively.